Home – New Forums New here? Share your story Living my dream, starting a building business

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Balcombe Projects
    • Total posts: 3
    Up
    ::

Hi all,

I am 27yrs old and I have been dreaming of starting my own building business for a many years now. I am well aware of the difficulties involved in starting a business in this industry but now believe the timing is right for me to take the plunge.

I have 5yrs + experience as a residential construction supervisor plus experience as a trade, I also have a business/finance degree, and Cert IV in Building and Construction. For the past few months I have been preparing my business plan and DB-U application. I have also bought a property 18months ago to renovate and sell hoping to make a profit to help finance some my business, and use as a marketing tool. It is almost on the market and we are expecting to make a handy profit.

My goals for this year is to achieve accreditation, complete my business start-up, and purchase a property to build on. The first build is likely to be a spec home, where I build and sell at completion. There is plenty of risk in this method but it will allow me to showcase my credentials and hopefully obtain further work. I believe it will be difficult to obtain a client home without any homes built under the business but will be trying my best to obtain one.

As I plan and head toward my end of year goal I am likely to come up against many challenges and I hope to find some advice and support while sharing my experiences with you all on this.

Please feel free to ask questions, provide advice or critique my plans, as it’s all more than welcome and much needed.

Thanks

Matt

AlexWebley
    • Total posts: 8
    Up

Hello Matt,

I wish you all the best in your new venture. Your post has given me some confidence in you, as I am sure it will have done to others. In other words, you are coming across well.