Home – New Forums Tech talk Long term SEO success stories

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    Craig_Longmuir
    • Total posts: 556
    Up
    ::

So, after hiring a SEO company/guy to do your SEO, who has had long term success they are really happy with??

I hear plenty of people who getting little or no results and plenty who get short term results that drop off after 3/6/9 months (usually after sneaky SEO tactics that were being used)

would be nice to hear some success stories and perhaps a little bit behind the workings of that success!

JohnW
    • Total posts: 2,642
    Up

Hi Craig,
    I’ve been doing this SEO stuff for almost 20 years. (Sad, ain’t it.)

If you adopt SEO strategies that compliment and conform with Google’s recommendations that have never varied in 14 years, SE ranking results and referrals should remain relatively constant.

IMHO, the single biggest SEO variables are:

1. The level of competition in a search market.
    2. The addition of new or alternative search options. Here I’m referring to G changes like searching images, searching videos, Universal search, mobile search, etc.

The example I throw into the ring for these types of questions is the results for the G search phrase “railway sleepers Sydney”.

The top ranked page is from a tiny 5 page website that was published 7 years ago. It has held position 1-3 for all of this time. According to many SEO consultants it breaks all the rules and has nothing going for it. (Eg. Almost no external links, no content, no social media links, etc.)

Informed & experienced SEOs will be able to tell you why it ranks so well. Inexperieced ones will spout off a bunch of garbage about why it should be easy to out rank.

SEO is about targeting the widest range of relevant search phrases that can be used to attract relevant traffic to a site with the least cost.