Home – New Forums New here? Share your story Looking forward to Helping in Database Forum

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    FatTony80
    • Total posts: 6
    Up
    ::

Hi!

I’m Tony from Perth and I have set up a website – https://www.phpdirect.net

What is it and why am I doing this?

* Short Version *

I’m trying to bridge the technological divide for small businesses looking for free software. I’m a database developer and I strongly believe software should be free or very cheap!

* Long Version *

I have been involved with IT for the past 20 years either as an avid consumer or providing services to small business. Mainly I programmed web driven database applications for people to regain control over their business systems, reduce paperwork and reduce the time they spent doing mundane tasks. The way I charged for the systems was purely on my time that it took to program the system. Generally people were absolutely astounded at the functionality they could get for several hundred dollars. I still provide advice and do work through my company Freshfield Solutions.

I discovered that as time went on it was costing me less and less to complete a system as I reused code and resolved problems quicker. I came to a point where I would quote based on what I knew the customer would expect. This seemed a bit broken to me so I started work in 2010 on a system to deliver some of my more mature applications to a wider audience at little or no cost, that I had already been paid for many times over. The barrier was to enable someone with few IT skills the ability to set up their own web server and install the application. Xampp is easy enough to install, but if you asked the average user to download a zip file of php scripts, create a mysql database and then edit by hand a config.php without breaking the php code, they’d look at you like you were on fire.