Home – New Forums Starting your journey Management rights in Queensland?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    jeffs
    • Total posts: 6
    Up
    ::

I’ve spent some time studying them and quite close to pulling the trigger. I have no prior experience in this, but people I’ve talked to seem to come from all walks of life. I would like to buy and run it myself, with the idea of hiring a manager to run it if and when the time is right.

Wondering:
    – Which pocket of qld makes the most sense (I’m willing to move)?
    – Resort/holiday vs permanent vs cbd?
    – Any particular pitfalls/issues to look out for?
    – What is the most difficult/important thing to manage?
    – What do first-time managers (like myself) usually mess up?
    – How hard is it to hire a manager to run this in a few years time (just thinking ahead)?
    – Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Paul – FS Concierge
    Keymaster
    • Total posts: 3,488
    Up

Hi Jeffs,

Probably the I have observed holiday managers, some of which had previously been permanent managers.

Permanent on the whole requires a lot less work, “pound for pound”

Body Corporate committees can be a nightmare if you get the wrong one.

That’s all I can help with.

Hopefully some helpful members will be along soon with some on-point advice.

Cheers

ILS_GUy
    • Total posts: 43
    Up

Hi Jeffs
    I cant answer your questions directly but can comment based on my experience with owning a unit in a managed property.

As Paul has noted, the Body Corp committee can make or break a complex / your life. Spend time getting to know the committee prior to committing to a property.

My unit is permanently let in a complex where a lot of units are in the holiday pool. This means the site manager has little to do with the unit but still has oversight, and will sometimes have to deal with troublesome tenants.