Home – New Forums Starting your journey Multitasking and tax.

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    jonnycool
    • Total posts: 1
    Up
    ::

Can anyone provide feedback on this idea and any hurdles that may be ‘showstoppers’?

I am a electrician in my late 40’s who has a broad range of management and DIY skills.
    My wife and I have some experience in buying and renovating property.

I am looking at getting my Electrical Contracting Licence (primary business) and then within that structure, buy renovate and sell residential property.

I would envisage operating as a sole trader, working 30hrs a week as a sparky, and the remaining on the reno (hands on + managing other trades).

With my project management diploma and trade background, I have the labour sorted :)
    Just after advise on the business/tax/legal side.

My research suggests as a sole trading electrical contractor, any profits on the sale of the property would be added in my annual tax return as earnings with any profits from the electrical business?

Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Lisa Crocker
    • Total posts: 221
    Up

Hi Jonnycool,

Welcome to the forums! It sounds like exciting times are ahead. Hopefully some of our members will be able to help out with some tips.

All the best,
    Lisa

Taxopia
    Participant
    • Total posts: 301
    Up
    jonnycool, post: 241026, member: 87789 wrote:
    Can anyone provide feedback on this idea and any hurdles that may be ‘showstoppers’?

I am a electrician in my late 40’s who has a broad range of management and DIY skills.
    My wife and I have some experience in buying and renovating property.

I am looking at getting my Electrical Contracting Licence (primary business) and then within that structure, buy renovate and sell residential property.

I would envisage operating as a sole trader, working 30hrs a week as a sparky, and the remaining on the reno (hands on + managing other trades).