Home – New Forums Face-to-face meetups & events My experience with a networking meetup

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    jabar
    • Total posts: 31
    Up
    ::

Hi guys,

I would like to talk about my experience when I attended my first networking meetup which I didnt find that useful. Well, I am new to the entrepreneurial world and never before meet people creating or managing their own businesses, so one day I decided I would go to one of these networking meetups to see whats all about. Although I was starting an online store I didnt bring any business cards or promotional material to the meeting, so I basically went to learn and interact with people.

The dynamic was that first people would talk and introduce to others randomly, then everyone would present their business to each other during 5 minutes until everyone has met all the people and exchanged business cards. What I found was a little disappointing regarding how people behaved.

I honestly approached 6 or 7 people with the intention of get to know them and find out what was their business about, but I only found cold people not interested in having a chat but only on promoting their business. During the exercise I talked to all the people there and I really felt no one was interested in me as a person or in my business, but only on talking about their products/services hoping that I would get interested. For example, a girl approach me with a fake smile, asked me what was my business fast enough to take a card out of her pocket, give it to me and leave. To be honest, when I arrived home with around 20 business cards in my hand I just throw all of them to the garbage bin, except for one of a guy that was the only one interested in talking to me as a real person not a potential client.