Home – New Forums Money matters Need help for tax issue for sole trader~~!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    tndfloor
    • Total posts: 23
    Up
    ::

Hi, my name is heather. i am new to flyingsole and desperate for your help!

Ok,
    My hubby is running general trading on his own, been running it for only 10months. i am fulltime house wife looking after 1 year old daughter, casually help him when requried for matter of phone calls and issuing invoice and etc…..

For the business,
    This year, as first year of business we have made about 46,000 and we spend 20,000 for purchase(business expenses such as working materials and machines) and we have received 10,000 from our parents overseas.
    Business requires lots of expense, about 10-20% of income is used for purcahsing materials.

Because tax return period is coming, this is really big problem for us.
    We have spoke to an accountant and he told us to change our business to PYT LTD, says advantages of 30% flat rate tax, deductions, etc….insurances, super annuation and saying that we can lodge partnership, shareholders..etc. everything was bit too much to take…:(

Honestly,…I did not get enough info for paying 190$..
    And the service fee charges to us was bit much for us, and the most of all…
    He did not seem so reliable for us, so here i am looking for experienced sole trader who had gone thru this process or tax problem expert. :)

Because, we are now a bit low in cash,
    minimising tax is really necessary!..and looking up if lodging tax as sole trader would be bette option at this time.
    I heard that if we lodge tax return as sole trader, we cannot deduct expenses. some say we can, so it’s really confusing.

Anyone of you can give me an advice, that would really help us a lot.

Thanks!!!!

@HeatherSmithAU
    • Total posts: 525
    Up

Heather,

I suggest you contact the ATO.