Home – New Forums Marketing mastery Need HELP HELP HELP

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Alvin
    • Total posts: 4
    Up
    ::

I’m new to Australia, so have no any experience in business and lease contract.

Last November I bought a convenience shop in Adelaide, and my neighbor shop is a lunch bar. so there states “not to carry on activities that compete with the coffee shop within the same group of shops” on my lease contract.
    First I didn’t care these matters, because I thought the landlord restricted me and also restricted other shops as well. And on my contract from my previous owner there states “the lessor agreed not to allow other shops in the centre to sell supermarket grocery items & vegetables”

But after I took over the shop, I found the lunch bar can sell everything, kinds of milk ,iced coffee, drinks, ice cream, confectionaries, snacks and so on. Every item with high-profits sold in my shop also can sold in the lunch bar.

we are in a small shopping centre, all customers shopping here want to save time and convenience. For example, a customer goes to our shopping centre to have a lunch. The lunch bar sells both hot food and drinks, but I’m not allowed to sell hot food. The customer will not specifically come to my shop to buy drinks, because the lunch bar sells drinks as well.

I discussed with my landlord but he said there is no provision in my lease for me to impose conditions on other businesses in the shopping centre. The comments restricting other shops were written on the lease, by previous owner, not landlord, are not binding and have no effect.

Later, I found the landlord and the owner of the lunch bar are old friends.I consulted The Eastside BEC Team, responsible for managing small business. The stuff sent a member of South Australian Lease Management to my shop. He looked at my lease contract, said no problem, the reason is that I agreed with the contact.