Home – New Forums Money matters Need to change accountant: suggestions?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    BobCat
    • Total posts: 2
    Up
    ::

Dear all,

I have been running a small business since Sept 2015 as my side-hustle under which I organise few tech conferences (mainly Melbourne and Sydney) every year. I work full-time as a tech consultant. The business has been profitable and can pay between $25,000 – 35,000 after tax & expenses per year. Personally I don’t take any salary from business. Organising conferences is hard work and has its own challenges but I enjoy it because it gives me a lot of visibility in the international tech industry. I have legal support and business insurance which costs me about $4600 every year.

Cutting to the chase now…

I have been using an accountant’s practice who does BAS, tax returns, GST filing and bookkeeping etc. I pay him about $2500 for everything. Events can have hundreds of transactions but bank statements can provide almost all information. I also use this accountant for my and my partner’s personal income tax returns for which we pay him separately.
    My concern is that ever since I refused taking mortgage through him (he is also a mortgage broker), his team has stopped responding to my queries. Every small thing takes many follow ups. It seems as if they want us to take our business elsewhere.
    I live in South East of Melbourne (Camberwell) and I am looking for an accountant that is not overly expensive and can help with all accounting services and can also provide good business advice (additional payment for advisory service is okay).
    I cannot manage any aspects of accounting personally as I am often traveling for work and do not have time. I like to speak with my accountants and lawyers face to face once in a while and therefore a local practice would suit me well.
    A bigger concern is that switching accountants might be a pain and has to be timely.