Home Forums Money matters Never used an accountant – is this too expensive or just right?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    cameronpsych
    • Total posts: 7

Hi all,

I’m transitioning from a sole trader to a company (me and one other as employees). I have never used the services of an accountant before, having done bookkeeping and tax lodgement myself, but now is the time to use one.

For a bit of background – I am a Psychologist, working across multiple offices and projects, I keep my own records (Reckon) and will have one other employee of the company.

I have been quoted at $2500 for a year of accounting including returns, ASIC compliance etc. Essentially they say that they will do everything that will be required on the taxation side. Being new to it I don’t know whether this is in the ballpark of what I should be paying, or if it is too high, or indeed a great deal.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
    Cameron

James Millar
    Participant
    • Total posts: 1,702
    cameronpsych, post: 211798 wrote:
    Hi all,

I’m transitioning from a sole trader to a company (me and one other as employees). I have never used the services of an accountant before, having done bookkeeping and tax lodgement myself, but now is the time to use one.

For a bit of background – I am a Psychologist, working across multiple offices and projects, I keep my own records (Reckon) and will have one other employee of the company.

I have been quoted at $2500 for a year of accounting including returns, ASIC compliance etc. Essentially they say that they will do everything that will be required on the taxation side. Being new to it I don’t know whether this is in the ballpark of what I should be paying, or if it is too high, or indeed a great deal.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
    Cameron

We have annual reporting packages for small companies starting at $1975. Bookkeeping is excluded.