Home – New Forums Starting your journey New Business

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    TDGDESIGN
    • Total posts: 29
    Up
    ::

Hi Everyone,

I am in a position where I want to expand my graphic design business. Currently, I am a sole operator and work from a home office. I have been successful to date (last 14 years) but all my work has come from word of mouth. The last few years have seen a few of my good contacts retiring or getting close.
    I think I need to get a Business Development person (or partner) with fresh contacts but can’t afford to put on a salaried position at this stage. I advertised on seek last year for a commission only position but got absolutely no response.

I am happy to consider a full partnership with the right person. My other option is to consider doing a merger with someone.

My field of expertise is professional services (Accountants, Lawyers etc) and corporate design but I will basically do any type of design work.

I would appreciate any comments or advice.

Thanks.

mitchcrowle
    • Total posts: 24
    Up

Hey,

I would recommend looking around for someone who is willing to work part-time, at least at the beginning (they may be a freelancer, already work part-time or have their own business interests). A previous employer of mine expanded from a sole trader to include me and a project manager/co-ordinator, and in the beginning we were both brought on only 2 days a week. This meant that there wasn’t as much pressure on our employer, and both I and the co-ordinator could continue to work on our other interests… Hope this helps!

Jake@EmroyPrint
    • Total posts: 1,117
    Up

Have you considered doing some advertising? Perhaps some cold calling or letterbox dropping?

Both of those work pretty effectively for me, I’m in Print & Design.

Regards,

Jake

Jack
    • Total posts: 12
    Up

Hey!