Home – New Forums Starting your journey New Business: tax/employee obligations?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    ex_reven
    • Total posts: 5
    Up
    ::

Hi all,

I recently started up my own company and have since been working on the website and branding (its a design company). Its me as director with 3 employees

So basically I have an ABN, ACN, TFN and am registered for PAYG withholding. Im primarily a designer, so when it comes to accounting and book keeping I really have no idea, as Im young and I dont really have any personal experience with that.

For example, I know I need a Company Constitution but I have no idea how to write one. And I know that I legally need to keep records of all business related transactions for tax purposes but I have no idea how to go about that. I know in theory how PAYG works but I have no idea how to apply that in paperwork.

Basically what Im saying is that:
    On a business level I can make and handle money (im capable of finding, targeting, gaining and making profit from clients, sensible with expenditure, sound knowledge of who my target clients are, what suppliers I should deal with, and how to conduct myself professionally).

BUT

I have no idea what is required of me, due mainly to the fact that:
    a) Government websites lead me in circles and its difficult to find what I need
    b) When I do find what information I need, I rarely understand the practical application of it because of jargon.
    c) Unwilling to pay an accountant/legal advisor (its a 4 person company with a focus on building a portfolio/getting real world experience rather than making alot of money, so spending money on these people would be disadvantageous as we want to be able to deal with these issues as well).

So I guess that my questions are vague and largely numbered, but what would be most helpful to know is:

How did you find out what you needed to start your own business?