Home – New Forums New here? Share your story New to Business and need your help

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    tujar
    • Total posts: 4
    Up
    ::

Hi all, I am male and 25 years of age. This is the first time I have looked at the topic “business”, I work in IT and I have recently been approached by a relative to buy a established business together, he wants to buy a bakery as he has worked in the baking industry previously and he currently works for a company that makes pies.

He has asked me to own 50% of the business but I am not sure if it’s the right thing for me to do since I have zero experience in owning my own business, though he has suggested that I should keep my current job and he will manage the business with employees.

The business owner is asking for $100,000 and he has agreed to give us a two weeks trial with the condition that the business will make $5000 a week. The net profit is suggested to be around 30-40%. With this in mind the net profit would be around $1500-2000 a week at its current state, and this will barely cover “or may not” the wages of my relative and the other two employees to help him run the business. Though we have some ideas on how to improve the it but it’s something not guaranteed to work.

Given the above info what would you suggest, I know it’s not easy but I would appreciate your thoughts. Is this a good move or would I be better of looking at online trading? This is also something that I have started looking at.

Thanks

Melinda B
    • Total posts: 349
    Up

I would suggest you go see your accountant – and take along a copy of the books of this bakery.

If it’s making that much money per week, why is the owner selling it? Doesn’t sound like a lot of money for a thriving business….

If you’re at all hesitant then don’t do it.

tujar
    Up
    Melinda_B, post: 31477 wrote: