Home – New Forums Other discussions New UK trademark conflicts with my own

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    sejades
    • Total posts: 3
    Up
    ::

Hi

I have a trademark for my small Internet service business and have just found out that someone in the UK proceeded with an identical name in the same category which was granted about two months ago.

I understand that a UK trademark is not an Australian trademark but do I have any options or recourse to challenge it as they are essentially offering the same type of service under the same name, or did I simply leave it too late?

Thanks in advance.

ontherunway
    • Total posts: 43
    Up

I am by no means an expert on this, but my understanding is that you have to register a trademark, by country and by category. Has the UK person registered this trademark in Aus? If it is just registered in the UK you should be okay…..

Then there is the ‘use it or lose it’ thing . i.e. to ensure protection you have to demonstrate use…. so if they don’t use it … that’s an opening for you, but I think the process of arguing this is time consuming and expensive….

anyway, as I said I am no expert…

sejades
    Up

Thanks for the quick reply.

No, I have an existing trademark in Australia and they’ve registered in the UK, but as we’re both providing an Internet service there’s no real geographical boundary, hence my concern.

They are actively using the trademark and have registered the .co.uk variations of the domain name. I am worried that the competitors trademark will effectively water down my own brand.

Craig.Smith
    • Total posts: 167
    Up

It’s my understanding that you need to register the trademark for each country otherwise you don’t have a leg to stand on. However it’s best you follow up with a trademark lawyer for the best advice.

JacquiPryor
    • Total posts: 2,344
    Up

Hi There,