Home – New Forums New here? Share your story Newbie on import business

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Trason
    • Total posts: 1
    Up
    ::

Hi Everyone and business mentors,

I am a newbie in a small-business (start-up) and I am about to purchase and import sustainable handicraft products made of native rattan, coconuts, bamboos, banig mats, capiz and woven textiles from the Philippines to SYD via DHL. I’ve been doing some research and the more I dig deeper, I am now getting muddled and confused about the importation policies, and taxes (GST and duty fees).

The goods are from 5 different suppliers from different regions (2 of them have experienced importing to AU but for personal use and in small quantities via DHL) but now in bulk orders, I need to know what should I be prepared of.

Since I’m also starting with minimal funds. The value of the goods on each supplier may be between $750 to $900 and the schedule of shipping could be in interval due to lead time of manufacturing and I may stock up for the meantime.

Could you please help me with the following:
    1. Am I required to submit import declaration form each time of shipping or is it DHL will complete this?
    2. IF the shipping costs and fees are added to the goods and summed up to $1000 does GST and fees apply? Does ATO charges me of GST if its an aggregate of all goods?
    3. Considering the goods are at their good export quality made, would they still be subject to fumigation and what paperworks should I prepare? Any ideas of the fees involved?
    4. Would I be saving more if I deal with freight forwarders in small value goods? or is it practical with DHL?
    5. Can you also help me a formula on how to put a price on my product?
    Thank you very much for any help on my enquiries.

Paul – FS Concierge
    Keymaster
    • Total posts: 3,488
    Up

Hi And Welcome to Flying Solo [USER=115966]@Trason[/USER] .

It is great to have you!