Home – New Forums Tell me straight… One question for tradespeople

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Kami
    • Total posts: 2
    Up
    ::

Hello,

I’m a student and just registered here. Currently, my team and I are working on a small project related to plumbers and other tradespeople. We would really appreciate an answer to this question:
    Would you advertise your fees publicly (for the most frequent problems you have to fix)? If not, why?

Thank you and have a great day,

Kami

Greg_M
    • Total posts: 1,691
    Up

The short answer is, no I wouldn’t.

Firstly, I preferred “fixed” pricing rather than a rate…so I would get an accurate scope of the job before pricing, and rarely were any two jobs exactly the same. Also a clients opinion of what’s required is often little better than a hopeful guess.

I always declared my hourly rate if asked, but didn’t advertise it, again often the client is fishing on price and assumes cheapest is best, when in reality a good tradesman on a higher hourly rate may be far more productive than an also ran who’s rate is cheaper.

All of the above is avoided in my experience with a lump sum price and a scope of works.

Some trades like plumbers and electricians are more commonly “called out” to more urgent tasks where they need to charge for their time (and often a call out fee). But in my experience few if any openly advertise these rates, probably for the reasons I mentioned earlier, but usually declare them when they get a customer enquiry.

bb1
    Participant
    • Total posts: 4,485
    Up

No, to many variables in a job.

In my industry even two 1000 Sq Metres lawns next door to each other could take different amounts of time to mow.

If you display your rates consumers will expect you to charge that rate, even if it is obvious that their job is more complicated.

Easysmb
    • Total posts: 84
    Up

Agree with Greg and Bert