Home – New Forums New here? Share your story Online business. Ideas?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    gstevens
    • Total posts: 6
    Up
    ::

Hi All,

As a new member to Flying Solo I would love to receive some feedback.

I have over 4 years marketing experience working for large companies, however this year I decided to take a role as a Office Manager for a friends construction company.

I have always wanted to start my own business and I have found that I have more free time in my current position. So I am looking at starting my own business on the side…..

I feel that my business skills are strong, and I also have an interest in the online space. So I am thinking of an online business. I have a few ideas but would love to hear from anyone that has successfully started an online company or has any online ideas?

Cheers

exstatic
    • Total posts: 335
    Up

Hey,

I have successfully started a number of online businesses and it has been great, its something you can work on whenever you like where ever you like.

But there is so much that goes into starting an online business, depending on your idea it can be just as challenging if not more so than starting an off-line business.

Aside form your idea, very basic things you need to think about are;

– Who is going to design the site for your? – Can they support you throughout the life of the business, not just give you a site and never be heard of again!
    – Where is the site going to be hosted, what sort of traffic do you think you are going to need? How many hits do you think you will get?
    – Will you sell directly off the site, or use affiliate or advertising methods to generate income?
    – Internet marketing & SEO, how will you make your site stand out from the billions of other sites online?
    – How will you secure and protect customer data?