Home – New Forums Logistics Online Women’s clothing

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    ange lea
    • Total posts: 1
    Up
    ::

Hi

I am considering starting up an e-commerce women’s clothing store. I’ve had no previous experience in retail or the fashion industry but I’ve been online shopping for years and love it! I think I could really give it a good go.

What type of information should I be seeking for market research?
    What is the best way to make connections with wholesale suppliers?
    Any tips for a new starter?

Cheers

Jodie McLeod
    • Total posts: 345
    Up

Hi Ange,

Welcome to the Flying Solo forums on behalf of the FS team!

It’s certainly an exciting industry to entering into.

To start with, you might be interested to read the article that was posted today on “Secrets to business success“, in which the founder of online fashion retailer Another Love, Rochelle Miller, shares her tips.

In regards to market research, this article could be of help (and we also have an article coming out on 24 April that looks at defining your target market – set a reminder in your calendar!)

Best of luck!

Jodie

Ondetto
    • Total posts: 110
    Up

Hi Ange,

welcome to FS!

Women’s fashion is a fun but very competitive market, so you really need to come up with a unique concept to stand out. Plus, allow enough time and money for marketing until the business becomes profitable and develops a loyal following.

You’ll obviously need an online store that looks sharp, being in the fashion industry – but I would caution against overinvesting (better to leave some money aside for marketing). You should be able to get a decent custom designed eCommerce website for $3-5K.

I don’t really know much about getting suppliers but I am sure there are lots of others on the forum with experience in this area.

All the best,
    Frederike

leena
    • Total posts: 31
    Up

Hi Ange,