Home – New Forums Money matters Overdraft

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    complete civil
    • Total posts: 7
    Up
    ::

I am looking for information on getting a overdraft account. I am only new in my own business so will this be a issue? My business turns over enough to cover wages and in total leaves a few hundred dollars profit every week and slowly growing. I need the overdraft to chase up larger jobs to increse my turnover.
    Thanks

Burgo
    Participant
    • Total posts: 2,104
    Up

Develop a BUSINESS PLAN then talk to a friendly bank. Also talk to an accountant who will walk you through a business plan and direct you to his friendly bank, as not ALL banks are friendly, greedy yes.

complete civil
    • Total posts: 7
    Up

Thanks for that, do you suggest i wait until i have been in business at least 12 months?

beanydc
    • Total posts: 44
    Up

It’s always better to talk to the accountant sooner rather than later. They’ll have plenty of advice and suggestions for you, including how to put things together for tax in a way that will save you accounting fees.

To find one, talk to others in business, and see what they suggest.

Denise Maffey CA PP (NZ)

complete civil, post: 3882 wrote:
    Thanks for that, do you suggest i wait until i have been in business at least 12 months?
    toddo
    • Total posts: 9
    Up

Just a couple of things to think about. Firstly, getting overdraft in the current climate will be challenging without property security to back it up. Secondly if you are intent on going ahead, make sure you have a month by month cash flow for the next 12 months that shows exactly why you need it and how it will fluctuate between credit and debit.