Home – New Forums Starting your journey Pitching People to Advertise on My website

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    lj
    • Total posts: 15
    Up
    ::

Hi there,

I have recently acquired a hobby website that I believe has large potential. I am at the first stages of sourcing web designers (put your hands up ppl!) and over the next few months while the new site is being delevoped I intend to approach potential advertisers, specifically in the music and entertainment areas. The site already generates a fair amount of traffic that I can use as statistics, and I anticipate my improvements will obviously generate more.

What I am looking for is someone that I can work with to put together a professional pitch to potential advertisers. I will be meeting people in person so I want to be professional and fully inform, with a package that I can leave with them. I am new in the field of selling space (it will be primarly banner ads and featured editorials) , and I need someone that has current Australian industry experience. I do not know how these transactions go down, and I would like help understanding what advertisers want, and to get a clear indication of what advertisers are paying for similar traffic/ websites.

I have questions like, do advertisers expect exclusivity so I can not promote similar products, does that have to be written into the contract or is it an blanket rule, should I offer the option upfront or only if they insist? Is it standard for the advertisers to supply their own images? If I employ someone to find advertisers for me what is the general au commision rate? And lots more questions..

Also hopefully the same person can assist in writing out the actual terms and conditions, and specifications, like
    http://sops.news.com.au/adspecs/NewsDigitalMedia_AdSpecifications.pdf
    http://sops.news.com.au/terms/NDM_Display_Terms_and_Conditions.pdf