Home – New Forums Get productive Precautions!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Sarah G
    • Total posts: 13
    Up
    ::

Hi :-)

I am hoping to start my own business in the next year. I have a product in mind that i am excited about. It’s like a reinvention of a product that has existed for a very long time. I wish to design and market it to appeal to a particular niche.

Well, i have never manufactured a product on my own, never marketed, never done book keeping, and i have little knowledge on what it takes to run a business.

I have done a “start a small business” crash course, read a book, sniffed around here at FS and have started doing some research on my product.

Basically, i want to know how to avoid being a statistic. There are heaps of small businesses that go under during the first year and so i want to be really careful and learn as much as i can.

Do you have any tips? Have you made mistakes that i can learn from? When is excitement a bad thing? How can i avoid failing? Please advise!

Sarah

FletcherTax
    • Total posts: 347
    Up

Hi Sarah

Welcome to the Forums.

Nothing wrong with being precautious – in fact it’s best to be so, to avoid some of the hurdles along the way.

I need to run now but some of the things people fail in during first year include:
    – Setting up wrong business structures for their business
    – Not having correct or adequate insurance
    – Before starting, not having a cash flow or business plan in mind
    – Having a spend, spend, spend attitude where spending does not always equal the same amount in return
    – Not spending on the right services (marketing/accounting/legal)

Best wishes for your venture and look forward to hearing updates,

Janna

Burgo
    Participant
    • Total posts: 2,104
    Up