Home – New Forums Marketing mastery Pro bono work, do you do it?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    Joel Krause
    • Total posts: 103
    Up
    ::

Hey Guys,
    As you may (or may not?) know, I’m quite new to business and it all started last year when I was offering to do websites for cheap (or in all cases free), one client I picked up has been awesome, so I do the website and what-not for nothing (it’s a community event).

If you’re in the professional services industry, do you offer pro bono work to some clients?

It’s quite a controversial topic!

Cheers,
    Joel

bridiej
    • Total posts: 1,097
    Up

No.

A couple of years ago I did some free work in exchange for a link on the person’s website, but it ended up being a PITA so I canned it and vowed never again.

I can understand how it might be appealing, especially in the early days, but I personally would give it a wide berth. Even when something is offered for free/next to nothing people expect to be able to demand what they want/when they want it and don’t value the hard work that goes in.

JMHO 😮

Sydney Business
    • Total posts: 141
    Up

In some cases doing things for free can be damaging to the industry as a whole and it shows little value for your knowledge and skills.

I understand that a community based service or a not-for-profit comany may be a positive choice as a free client but all other businesses I would see as a smart choice.

The choice is yours but don’t devalue what you and the industry as a whole have to offer.

Joel Krause
    • Total posts: 103
    Up

I certainly wouldn’t do it again.

While it gave me an extra project to put in my portfolio (which is good), I do have overheads that I need to pay and can’t be spending all my time working on the low-cost/free projects.

Appreciate your feedback guys! :)

Cheers,
    Joel.

James
    Participant
    • Total posts: 268
    Up