Home – New Forums New here? Share your story Purchasing an established business

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Choppy77
    • Total posts: 2
    Up
    ::

I’m new to Flying Solo and was wondering if anyone’s able to help me with my situation – I’m a financial planner looking to purchase an established accounting/financial planning business but I’m a little concerned about how clients will react when they find there’s a non-accountant running the business, especially as a lot of the clients have been there for a long time and have mainly dealt with the vendor (accountant & planner).

There is another established accountant in the business who’s the main contact for most clients now so there is a good relationship with clients there, but I still have some concerns around retaining all the revenue I’m purchasing.

I’d welcome people’s thoughts on this.

Thanks

Dave Gillen – Former FS Concierge
    Keymaster
    • Total posts: 2,566
    Up

Hi Choppy,

Welcome aboard the forums!

Personally as a customer I wouldn’t be concerned greatly about the business changing hands if my accountant will still be the same person.

If a lot of people are losing their personal accountant in the change-over, then not much is staying the same for them and I’d expect some to leave (you might factor this into the price you pay for the biz).

What I’d suggest to minimise losing clients is to work with the previous owner (well before the change-over) to let customers know what is happening and why, what the changes will be, and for the previous owner to give his/her full endorsement to you and any new staff. Go for honesty rather than keeping it quiet.

Good luck!

Dave

MissSassy
    • Total posts: 1,255
    Up

It is going to all be about communication and managing peoples expectations. If you are smart you can alleviate any fears and hopefully continue a good relationship with the client base.