Home – New Forums Starting your journey Question on accounting when starting small

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    dp405
    Participant
    • Total posts: 4
    Up
    ::

Hi all,

I’ve recently set up my own company. This is just a side project at the moment and I’ll be using it to do a little bit of consulting, and to potentially apply for some R&D grants (I’m a scientist/engineer in the electronics sector).

I’d love to get some advice on how to handle the accounting at this early stage. For this year I’m only expecting 3-4K in company income, so hiring an accountant would take a sizeable percentage of that.

Is it common for people to handle their own company tax returns/invoicing at this early stage?
    Are there any recommended tools/guidance for this?

Alternatively, are there accountants that will take on a relatively simple case like this at a low cost?
    I have searched around on the web but have not had much luck finding something suitable.
    In am Sydney based if that makes a difference.

Your advice and suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

David

Paul – FS Concierge
    Keymaster
    • Total posts: 3,488
    Up

Hi and welcome David.

At your stage of business there are a lot of Sole Traders and this is easier to do DIT tax for than through a Company.

Cheers
    Paul

dp405
    Participant
    Up

Thanks Paul, in my case I have had to go for a company (PTY LTD) as it is a requirement for certain R&D grant applications. It is also preferred for me with regards to liability.

FMJeff
    Participant
    • Total posts: 1
    Up