Home – New Forums Starting your journey Questions from a newbie

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Sam S.
    • Total posts: 4
    Up
    ::

Hi all,

I have been looking to get into my first business for quite a while, and have decided to go for a franchise (food), as I have no business experience.

My question is, can anyone recommend any small business courses which help on giving basic knowledge, writing business plans, etc.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Ginja77
    • Total posts: 3
    Up

Hi, I’m a newbie too. I have a link you may be interested in, this is from our economic development board website in my home town where they can help you setup/start your own business. It’s relevant to all small business ventures, so it maybe of some use to you. I found it helpful.
    http://www.wedb.com.au/businessservices/
    Hopefully, it works.

Cheers
    Ginja

Sean@dominiumcapital
    • Total posts: 11
    Up

Hi Sam. Without trying to sound “too tough” on you, I seem to have a come across a number of people on the site who have no business experience, but who want to get into the food industry as their first self-employed venture. I don’t know if it’s just a trend, but what I would say is that it’s a pretty tough industry to launch into with no experience, from my professional advisory experience.

We have a number of clients who own food industry businesses – cafes, restaurants, to little “hole in the wall” coffee dispensaries. They’re great businesses, but hard work.

What I would say – first up – is that you should go and work in a food business if you haven’t already (maybe you have – I couldn’t tell from your first post). The food industry can be rewarding, but it’s tough – it’s not for the faint-hearted or the lazy (not suggesting you’re lazy here!).