Home – New Forums Tech talk Real estate listings website

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Delgadostakeaway
    • Total posts: 12
    Up
    ::

Hi everyone,
    My wife comes from a country that I would also consider my second home. The last time I was there 12 months ago I discovered a potentially great opportunity in the real estate industry. I was searching online for different property types and found it really difficult to find what I was looking for, as the existing real estate listings portals where all pretty average at best.
    So I started to think, if there was a real estate website as good as realestate.com or domain in this country then it could be very successful.
    I am not a website developer nor do I really know much about the industry, how can I go about getting my desired website (something similar to australia’s best) built?
    I am knowledgeable enough to know that realestate.com and domain have millions of dollars behind them, but is it possible and affordable to build a smaller version of these sites to begin with and then expand it and continue expanding every so often until it is at the ideal size?
    I don’t come from a lot of money nor do I have a significant amount of savings, could the job get done by outsourcing?
    I have also thought about trying to contact a talented website developer student from the local university/take, would they be capable?
    Are there developers out there who will do the website development for you for free in return for a snegotiated stake in any potential profit? Perhaps this could also be done with a student developer
    Thank you

joelwarren
    • Total posts: 16
    Up

Hey again,

I just commented on your other thread.

Where is your wife from?
    I’d consider the current realestate website pretty good, I’d be interested to hear where you think they fall short if you’re happy to share.