Home – New Forums New here? Share your story Really really new at this

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    G4K
    • Total posts: 8
    Up
    ::

Hi everyone

I have been a member of this forum for a few weeks now and thought it was time that I introduce myself. I am a primary school teacher but have taken time off to have my beautiful daughter who is now 7 months old.

I have always dreamed of owning my own business but never really had the time to explore the possibilities until now. I have identified a particular need in the retail market related to children and their health and education and currently looking into the possibility of setting up an online store to cater for this. I feel really passionate about the area I am focusing on and have quite a lot of experience in it from a teacher’s perspective.

However (and it’s a big however lol), I don’t have any business experience so I feel like a fish out of water a bit. I have got my hands on a copy of The Penguin Small Business Guide and Starting a Small Business for Dummies which have given me a good starting point. I’ve also trawled through a lot of the government websites related to starting a small business. If anyone happens to know of any resources that are particularly good for starting up an online retail business I’d love to know about them…

In terms of actual work on the business I’ve secured an ABN, registered a domain name and almost finished my business plan (I just need to work out the financial aspects).

So as you can see I’m still very much a beginner at all of this but I’m more than eager and very passionate about seeing what I can do with my idea.

I look forward getting to know other members of this community, learning from you, and hopefully one day being able to contribute my own advice.

Caz

kbrookes
    • Total posts: 265
    Up

Have you thought about doing the NEIS programme?