Home – New Forums Money matters Record keeping when employing contractors etc

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    TBJ Creative
    • Total posts: 5
    Up
    ::

Hi,

This may be a stupid question but I’d like to ask about record keeping when employing a contractor or freelancer.

I am a sole trader and am about to employ a freelancer to handle my overflow.
    Lets say I charge out $120ph to my client whilst my freelancer charges me $40ph. And lets say the total bill is $120 to my client, do I record the full amount as income for me (being $120) and then record the $40 in my expenses? Or do I record $80 as income for me and $40 as expense?

I suppose this applies to markups I make on things as well. For instance, if I mark up a printing job by 25% and invoice the total amount direct to my client, do I record in my income the full print total including the 25% markup or do I record just the 25% markup amount? If this is the case, do I then include this in my expenses as the client is covering the cost through my invoice anyway?

I am sure I have made this sound more confusing than it needs to be!

Thanks.

StellarScott
    • Total posts: 239
    Up

Hi Tashbj and welcome to the forums

Yes, In your example you show $120ph as income and expenses such as freelancer costs and printing as a cost of sales.

As an aside you dont employ contractors the ATO makes a clear distinction between employees and contractors and is cracking down on ‘sham’ contracting

http://www.ato.gov.au/nonprofit/content.asp?doc=/content/4540.htm

Please feel free to contact me anytime for any book keeping or accounting questions

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up
    tashbj, post: 48836 wrote:
    This may be a stupid question but I’d like to ask about record keeping when employing a contractor or freelancer.

Hi tashbj,

Welcome to Flying Solo, and I’m glad Scott was able to help you with your query (thanks Scott!).