Home – New Forums Money matters Registering a business – for the look of authority. Good idea?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    happyez
    • Total posts: 49
    Up
    ::

Hi all

I am going to be launching a schlew of professional reference guides which have all the hallmarks of taking off in the next 12 months.

I have been a sole trader since 2009, and fronting up as a sole trader to professionals in industry bodies and major corporations, with no track record/history and no sales history means I will have a big obstacle to overcome (however, the product will erase most of those worries instantly, but its like working the engine quite hard, and the less effort the better!).

But the thing I am missing here presently is ‘authority’. In FSer’s opinions, will being a Manager/CEO/other_title of a Pty Ltd company help me, or will it be little more than negligable?

If I answer my own question, I would say it would help quite a bit. Since I am dealing with companies only, and the product is totally in the B2B realm, being up a business level will help immensely. I know there are major tax and accounting responsibilities to fulfill, but the turnover looks quite substantial, so that shouldn’t be a problem.

In case I have answered my own question wrongly, what do others think?

Cheers all
    Eric

Greg_M
    • Total posts: 1,691
    Up

I’m not so sure about the “authority” angle, but I do think having a P/L business can help in some circumstances.

Some Government authorities, and bigger businesses don’t or won’t deal directly with an individual.

I’m in a different field, but for e.g. … most council tenders for procurement, won’t even put you on the “list” unless you have P/L. Bigger businesses I’ve worked with prefer it too.

I think it has more to do with avoiding the risks of dealing with an individual legally, than anything else. None of the ones I’ve dealt with seems to care that the P/L was a one man band.