Home – New Forums Money matters Rejecting an Invoice

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    shamaccas
    • Total posts: 1
    Up
    ::

Hi Everyone,

I was wondering if you could help me out.

I am a technology application consultant working mainly with businesses that come up with new programmes and products and identifying their potential for market application and revenue generation.

One of my clients has a problem with a particular client who is not paying their invoice constantly rejecting the invoice for reasons such as a typo in the footer (Receipt was spelt “ie” in the footer but correctly in the Header), wrong account manager’s name (it was addressed to the account manager that booked and signed the work it but the client is claiming that it was a different account manager responsible for approving the work).

Now they are claiming to reject the invoice because the date it was dated was five days prior to them receiving it and they want a new invoice issued with today’s date.

I know this is a ploy for them not to pay but I have told my client I will ask around and try to find out.

My questions are these:

1. can you reject an invoice and demand a new one issued because the date of the invoice is different from the date of receipt?

My client reissued the invoice with the date that they acknowledged they received it but they want it reissued with today’s date. My understanding is that you would reissue only with the date of acknowledgement of receipt.

2. if he was to reissue an invoice with todays date can he make the payment terms 7 days as another 30 days will make this invoice 120 days since first issue.

3. Should he just proceed to legal?

Many thanks

Past-Member
    • Total posts: 1,815
    Up

I’m sorry, but the only reason to reject an invoice is for work that is shoddy or incorrect supplies etc. A typo or date is irrelevant.