Home – New Forums Money matters Reselling GST Exempt Goods

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    jilamints
    • Total posts: 3
    Up
    ::

Hi Everyone,
    Our business resells information & reports purchased from the Australian government and as such, the services they provide us do not attract GST. These are the only goods we purchase & resell. The resale of these reports by my business to the public are conducted entirely online, to Australian residents. Ultimately, when you hit the $75,000 GST registration limit you obviously have to add GST to the sale of those goods/services.

This is unavoidable, but my question is, how could we increase our GST credits to essentially offset or otherwise reduce our GST liability.

Dave Gillen – Former FS Concierge
    Keymaster
    • Total posts: 2,566
    Up

Welcome to the forums [USER=118111]@jilamints[/USER]!

I’m no expert on GST, but the most common approach would be to charge the GST to the customer on top of your sale price, so you don’t end up out of pocket.

Hopefully some accountants can chime in with their expertise.
    Dave

jilamints
    Up

Thanks Dave, you’re certainly not wrong and by and large I suspect that’s the short answer, but I feel like I’m giving the government a free kick… I know, welcome to the wonderful world of taxation. ;)

What frustrates me is this isn’t a “normal” situation; most businesses would for the most part deal in goods and services that equally attract GST.

LucasArthur
    Participant
    • Total posts: 3,171
    Up

Think I understand, wanting to basically try and offset gst collected with get paid – BUT you are not purchasing with GST levied and as a result are missing considerable write offs? Is that correct?

personally though, and taking into account what Dave says by charging +gst, having a gst bill could be seen as you doing well :)