Home Forums Starting your journey Restaurant: Days of slow business

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    kate_r
    • Total posts: 5

Hi

I know this can be a vague question, but for casual restaurants, typically how many days of slow business (e.g., 20% less sales than same day in previous week) would the owner experience before they start feeling uneasy and the need to get things moving? Would throwing out 30% off discounts after experiencing 3 days straight be a bit of a knee jerk reaction or a kind of sensible optimisation?

Dave Gillen – FS Concierge
    Keymaster
    • Total posts: 2,554

Hi [USER=77590]@kate_r[/USER],

I’m not a restaurant expert, but I would expect your business to be highly volatile, and could be affected by public holidays, school holidays, a nearby office closing down, or a million other things so 3 days probably doesn’t mean anything at all.

If it were me and I was concerned I’d try to “get things moving” in more sustainable ways during those down times. Rather than throw out discounts (short term) I’d think about how to make the shop-front more eye-catching, or where a strategically placed sign might help, or simplified menu, or better lunch meal deals (just random examples) or other ideas that may help in a more permanent way.

Just a couple of thoughts for you while waiting for some restauranty people to offer their experience.

Dave

Dave Gillen - Client Acquisition | Brisbane | (07) 3180 0288
    bpsadmin
    • Total posts: 6

Hi Kate,

I agree with Dave.
    But would ask my customers what they want to see, or look at connecting with a like minded business and bouncing off each other like if you used organic produce to create relationships with local growers or not so local you promote there business and they could do the same.
    Become a pickup place for there goods to create foot fall.

Just a idea

Good luck

Andy

Zava Design
    Participant
    • Total posts: 1,463