Home – New Forums Starting your journey Self Employed, ACN or ABN

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    BigLeon
    • Total posts: 6
    Up
    ::

Hi all,

I have tried to read up the forums and trying to get the answer I need, but no luck :(. I am new to be a self employed worker and I am new to work force plus I am a temporary resident who have been in Australia for 4 years only. I really need help.
    What is happening is I worked as a temp contractor in a company, by the end of my contract, I found that one of the department is hiring people.
    Well, in that department, the company outsource the service to another lady. And it is the lady which hire me.
    She wanted to hire me as a contractor, and required me to obtain an ACN. It was kind of a rush and since I really needed a job and wanted to stay in that company, I obtained an ACN anyway. After that, I read up more about ACN and ABN, and found that if i work through ACN, I am not only dealing with my own tax but also company tax (which is 30% tax rate). And since I m not earning a lot, the company tax rate is a lot higher than my personal income tax rate. I am in panic. Then found that actually it should be the same if I work as a sole trader holding an ABN.
    At this point, I want to convince her to let me do it under personal ABN instead of ACN. But I would also want to know about why does she wants me to have an ACN instead of an ABN?
    Please help me, I know I may confuse you but I am trying to use my best english to explain my complicated situation.
    I hope you can give me some advice.

MyGreatIdea
    • Total posts: 2,278
    Up

The only way you could have received an ACN is to have registered a company. Are you sure that this is what you did? It would require lodging a lot of documents and probably going through a lawyer or accountant.

Wendy :)

procnetservices
    • Total posts: 21
    Up