Home – New Forums Tech talk SEO Logic

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Lindz
    • Total posts: 254
    Up
    ::

Have to admit, I’m new to all this SEO stuff, but I think I’m getting the hang of it.

So if I were looking for an SEO provider, wouldn’t it make the most sense to pick the first organic .com.au in Google results? Just curious.

All best,

Lindsay

seocourse
    • Total posts: 918
    Up

yes and no.

Ranking shows a lot.
    But ranking goes up and down.
    I know awesome dudes here that have been down in rankings and some of them that have been up a few times.

My suggestion is…
    read the content in their sites.
    If they TEACH you something with the content… is a good start.

James
    Participant
    • Total posts: 268
    Up

In a sense, yes.

Unfortunately search results fluctuate enormously. Somebody who ranks for ‘SEO services’ one day could be on page 10 the next.

More often than not there are 4 or 5 legitimate businesses on the first page, and 4 or 5 ‘dodgy’ ones.

The dodgy ones get their rankings through shady (black-hat) tactics that are detrimental to a website in the long-term. You don’t want them working on your SEO.

If you can find a business that is established and has appeared in search results year after year, I think the logic checks out.

There are obviously several other critical factors to consider, not least whether you are going to have a good working relationship.

Be wary of large firms offering small packages. They don’t really allocate resources to small business so it can often be a waste of money.

An independent local SEO is going to give you much more insight and personalised strategy, and if chosen well will pay off. You do sacrifice the guarantees and prices of the larger firms though.

Aidan
    • Total posts: 1,125
    Up

Not to mention there are some great SEO guys out there who (believe it or not…) do NOT want to be found in Google!

easypeas