Home Forums Money matters Separate business bank account for small (tiny!) micro business?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Stitches
    • Total posts: 13

Hi all
    Selling through ebay at the moment, very small micro-business. Currently just using my personal credit card for purchases from wholesalers etc, money coming in from sales is mainly via Paypal, with an occasional,deposit to my personal bank account.
    If I open a “business” bank ac it’s going to cost me, say $10 pm, yes I am a micro business.
    Just wondering what others do….
    At the moment am keeping records manually in a spreadsheet, easy for me to differentiate between personal and “business”.
    I am a sole trader with a registered business name……this is my only income so at this stage will not be paying tax.
    Thanks all!

Dave Gillen – FS Concierge
    Keymaster
    • Total posts: 2,543

Hi [USER=70013]@Stitches[/USER],

If you’re having no problem keeping records, then there may not be a strong reason to change. Considering you’re a micro business, one problem that can pop up with a business account is having to make sure there’s always enough money in there to cover outgoing expenses.

That could be a good thing if you’re looking for more discipline and clarity around your numbers, but it may be less convenient if your biz has low or irregular cash-flow. Example – if you make $500 in month 1, and then your biggest annual bill comes in ($600), you might need $100 from your personal account, so in this case the desired simplicity of a business account could elude you.

Dave

Dave Gillen - Client Acquisition | Brisbane | (07) 3180 0288
    Jason Ramage
    Participant
    • Total posts: 3,161

Hi Stitches,

please note i am not an accountant and my advice is not based on tax implications/avoidance/payments although may i ask why are you considering a bank account in the business name?