Home – New Forums New here? Share your story Setting up a Pilates studio – insurance and other requirements

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Whitestable
    • Total posts: 2
    Up
    ::

Hi everyone I’m after some general business information.
    I am currently a Pilates instructor and work under an ABN and contract through a private studio but next year I will be looking to open up my own.
    I currently private indemnity insurance but wondering what type of insurance will be required if I have my own physical studio space. Will it be the same but adding on contents insurance etc or another specific business insurance
    I will have expensive equipment which I will need insured also.
    It would be a small studio and wondering if I would continue working as a sole trader or if I would need to have a registered business if I was to pay other instructors who contract with an ABN.
    I’m trying to work on a business plan and it looks to be quite profitable after I have considered purchasing equipment, paying rent costs, utilities etc. unsure on the GST front though and how that works.
    Any information would be greatly appreciated

Paul – FS Concierge
    Keymaster
    • Total posts: 3,488
    Up

Hi And Welcome to Flying Solo [USER=116053]@Whitestable[/USER] . It is great to have you!

Thank you for joining our community and posting.

I think you would be best off calling around to some insurance brokers and listening to what they advise – it would be good to try and get a feel for what they are advising because you want to end up in the sweet spot of insurance – not too much and not too little.

Should you trade as a Sole Trader, a Trust or a Company? The two main things people look at are how each relates to tax and liability now and into the future. Each will also have a different cost. Seek the advice of an Accountant for this one.