Home – New Forums Get productive Share my experiences to help others

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    rmck
    • Total posts: 35
    Up
    ::

My background is technically in design, but as many long-term self-employed people will tell you, your core skill accounts for only a fraction of the various skills you are forced to learn throughout your career to remain employable, and in my case this includes a lot of web design, web development and trail and error with many different CMS systems, ecommerce platforms, email marketing systems, social media channels and search optimisation techniques.

I was raised to be brutally honest and I know for a fact that this ingrained approach, when stacked up against offers from others that are mostly too good to be true, has cost me many clients over the years that I could have helped, and in some cases saved them a lot of heartache, frustration and money.

There seems to be little space for ethics in business these days (especially in the online space), and you need only to look at the reported behaviour of businesses like [business name removed] to realise that this is an unfortunate reality.

So what does this have to do with “What I’ll do…”?

Well, what I will do is what I’ve always done, shoot myself in the foot and continue to recommend solutions to businesses that I think best fit their needs, irrespective of the fact that I may make very little to no money from it.

That is what I’ll do.

Oh… and finish off that damn mobile app that I’ve been working on for 18 months :)

LucasArthur
    Participant
    • Total posts: 3,171
    Up

Hi Ryan,

Finished the App yet?? LOL..

Must say, the honesty of your post is great… I am sure that ethics still does exist (as you demonstrate) although it does get tarnished quite quickly with those that are not.. and unfortunately everyone in that said industry (whatever it is) is painted the same way.. hope that makes sense?