Home – New Forums Marketing mastery Should I write my own web copy?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 35 total)
  • Author
    gingerbeardhs
    • Total posts: 90
    Up
    ::

Hi Folks,

I’m hoping to get some input from those out there who have “been there & done that.”

I’m kind of at the crossroads in deciding if I should write the content for my website myself, or find someone to do it for me.

I’m a sole trader handyman & appliance repairer and up until now I have done pretty much everything myself website-wise, except for a basic page re-design, which I then expanded on.

I’m not too afraid of learning to properly write my own copy, especially as I enjoy doing things myself and seeing the results from that work. The thing is, while I feel I can get to being proficient at writing copy for myself, I will never be a professional copy-writer.

Another issue is that at this stage of the business, I can’t really afford to go out and pay for a high tier web copy writing/editing service that I know will be superb. It may also be overkill for the kind of website I’m trying to create.

What I can afford is $40-$60/hr for 3-5 hrs of copy service initially(which is what I have been quoted), to get the language right to encourage potential clients to contact me and for SEO of the copy itself so that I actually get potential clients. At this kind of price point, I’m also able to devote an intensive few weeks to getting how-to material (to close to the same value) and learning how to be proficient at it.

I am looking to write copy that sells Me & My services, so I also feel that my voice will be lost if I have someone write copy for me.

For those of you who have gone through a similar process, given what I can afford and what I can devote to doing it myself, will I see a difference if I hire somebody at this price point?

Feel free also to take a look at my website to see the content I have now, to see the base level copy I have written.

Greg_M