Home Forums Tech talk Showing website image in social media previews

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Tamara-H
    • Total posts: 8

I’m having trouble getting images from my website to show up in social site previews. Right now I’m just trying to have the home page banner image show in the website link.

I’ve looked at some articles about this and put in an ‘og:image’ tag with the URL. Checking it in the Facebook Debugger, the Home page image is now showing up in the preview (in the debugger), it still says that it’s missing ‘og:type’ and ‘fb:app_id’. And the image doesn’t seem to be working yet with Linked In.

Is anyone familiar with this problem?

P. S. I’m not a developer, in any sense!

MichaelSoker

Yes, it is to do with what CMS (content management system) your website is built with (eg WordPress etc) and the theme you are using on the CMS (eg JupiterX etc).

If you can advise that, or tell me your website URL (name) I can probably get closer to the solution for you.

Paul – FS Concierge
    • Total posts: 3,127

Hi And Welcome to Flying Solo [USER=119788]@Tamara-H[/USER] .

It is great to have you!

Thank you for joining our community and posting.

Cheers

Tamara-H

Hi Michael. I’m using Weebly, but not sure of the theme at the moment. Will need to check the site….
    In the meantime, the URL is http://www.sensitivethrive.com. Thanks for offering some help!

Tamara-H

Also, the main Home page image is now showing on Linked In updates.

MichaelSoker

Hi Tamara,

Unfortunately Weebly is a lock-in website provider so you’re limited to what their themes (designs) can do.

The Facebook button on your blog pages opens a pop-up that says “Turn on platform”, instead of the usual Facebook share box. See attached. That suggests you may have selected incorrect options when you added that.