Home – New Forums Money matters So confused … new company … how to pay myself!

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Cocka2
    • Total posts: 2
    Up
    ::

Hi All,

I am quite new in managing a business, please be nice :-)

I’ve registered a pty ltd company 3 months ago to offer IT services in NSW.

In our business we were contracted to deliver build web-based software products, my wife and I worked together to deliver.

I’ve received a few payments and I want to pay myself ($1) and my wife (the rest).

So far all the company’s income is parked in the company’s bank account.

We both have personal ABNs but we have never quoted/used them.

The company has its own ABN/TFN/BankAccount. And we are not registered for GST.

At this stage I am quite confused, what is the simplest way to manage the finances.

How should I pay super ? what should I do with withholding tax ? do I need to collect withholding tax, if so, where do I report it ? where do I report individual employees income and the part of their salary which I withheld ?

Is it easier to just pay myself and mywife using our personal ABN numbers ? Or is it easier to have us as employees of the business.

Thanks,

Past-Member
    • Total posts: 1,815
    Up

If you and your wife are employees you have to registered as an employer with associated costs of super and PAYG and other associated costs. I would really encourage you to discuss this with your accountant. You must get this right from the beginning in order to avoid problems or fines from the ATO in the future.

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up

Hi Cocka2,

Welcome to Flying Solo :)

As Karen mentioned, these are the types of questions that you’re best advised to discuss with your accountant as there are numerous issues to be considered, many of which will be unique to your personal situation.