Home – New Forums New here? Share your story So many questions

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    actonlineaustralia.com
    • Total posts: 16
    Up
    ::

Hey All,

Well Ive decided to try and add to my income and start a little business on the side and this has some nice potential. With this comes a lot of questions and so I joined this site to stand on the shoulders of others who have been in the same situation and have made a go of it.

I have resistered my business and got an ABN and started working on a website. I sell most of my items through ebay but am keep on return customers going striaght to my site tso to avoid addtional ebay costs.

My first question is as follows:
    My day job is a teacher and I earn 97K
    as a sole trader do my profits just go on top of what I earn and just push up my tax thresh hold or do I as a sole trader run business cash as totally seperate pay tax associated with my business seperately.

Im not sure if I am making sense. Im very new to all of this and Im still learning about gst and all that other crap.

Basically come tax time I dont want to get stuck with a massive unexpected bill.

Regards

Matt

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up

Hi Everlast,

Welcome to Flying Solo and congratulations on taking the plunge!

Hope a beancounter or two pops in to help you understand the tax issues etc soon.

Good luck for your new business,
    Jayne

yourvirtualboard
    • Total posts: 569
    Up

Income as a sole trader is no different to income in your personal capacity – they will be lumped together for your tax return.

Rhys
    • Total posts: 325
    Up

Hi Everlast,