Home – New Forums Starting your journey sole operator/owner insurance issue

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    j.dawson
    • Total posts: 5
    Up
    ::

i’m a sole operator/owner. I have a registered business name, abn and insurance. What happens when i want to register a second business name (same industry, just different service offering) do i have to get separate insurance?
    can i have two separate business names under one policy?
    Should’ve just named my business more generally from the start and not been so specific.
    thanks.

BradFry
    • Total posts: 72
    Up

Hi J,

Your insurance policy will list you as the ‘insured’. Typically your premium is calculated on the risk that something happens (an insured event). Say for professional indemnity insurance it would be based on your business’ industry, how many employees you have, what your turnover is, etc.

Simply listing a second business under the ‘insured’ section would not be ok as it becomes too complicated for underwriters of your insurance to cost out the risk to them. You will more than likely have to get another policy.

It does not matter what your named business is, whether complex or simple. It will only be covered if the business name is defined under the ‘insured’ section of the policy.

Hope this helps.

Brad

alliedib
    • Total posts: 453
    Up

Hi J,

Generally speaking, the answer (unfortunately for those that like black and white) is that it depends on what the two service offerings are. In some instances you may be able to get both businesses covered under the one policy, some you wont.
    As examples where a client has 1 ABN but 2 businesses and how the covers were approached: