Home – New Forums Money matters Sole trader filling e-tax for the first time

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up
    ::

Hi I’m a sole trader who registered an ABN last year.

I had an eBay store selling used items with around $5500 total sales for the year and didn’t properly keep records however I made no money and ran it at a loss stupidly for a few months before giving up on it.

I’m trying to fill out my e-tax and I’m at section 15 “Net Income or Loss from Business” and I’m completely confused. I fill out “Details of Main Business” and then I get lost.

What is “Primary Production” and what is “Non-primary production”? Do I fill that out for my online store?

“Opening stock” What does that mean? and “Closing Stock” and “Purchases and other costs” ?

I can’t afford an accountant and I’m at a loss of what to do. ATO said they will call me back within 48 hours but I don’t even know what to say to the guy who calls lol.

Thanks guys.

Important edit: Do I include sales and loses made before I got my ABN? I did about $1000 before signing up.

Past-Member
    • Total posts: 1,815
    Up

I could be wrong, but I think you may be classed as a ‘hobby’ this year. In order to claim expenses you must turn over $20K a year. And to pay tax you have to be earning over $18K.

Having a chat to the ATO person is a good idea as you may be worrying about nothing and just have to put in a plain tax return without doing the business bit.
    See what the ATO person has to say.

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up

Well I’ve done some quick calculations with what records I have and I think I actually made negative $500 or something for the whole year. I had a part-time job as well which I made $17.5k for the year.

I had no “opening stock”, I bought as I sold basically so I will keep that at zero and just fill out “Purchases and other stock” which basically equated to my total sales.