Home – New Forums Starting your journey Sole Trader working with Contractors

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    umair862
    • Total posts: 17
    Up
    ::

Dear All,

I have a software and Mobile App business as a Sole trader. I am thinking to expand it. I met a marketing person who is happy to bring more projects for me.
    I have been thinking about the business structure and other issues and need advise for the following issue.

1) As I am a sole trader, I want marketing person to be a contractor (Having his own ABN). In this case, If he brings a project to me, he will be treated as my client. He will charge his clients and I will charge him for any work he brings for me. Is there any better solution than this?

2) He does not have a software development portfolio? Can he use my business name, website and portfolio for Marketing purposes? Is it possible, he uses a business card with my business name written on it with his details listed as a marketing contractor?
    How can we do it in a better way?

3) If I allow him to use my business name, what if he does something wrong using my business name i.e fraudulently gets funds transferred from a company on my business name using my flyers etc?
    What are legal implications and how can I deal with them?

I will really appreciate your advise on this.

Regards,
    Umair

Ashman
    • Total posts: 78
    Up

Firstly, if you’re thinking about expanding your business register it as a company rather than a sole trader.

Your marketing guy should know how to promote a business. That’s his job right? He does not need access to your business card. He just needs to know what product or service you provide and then using his marketing skills to promote your business.

If he is unable to do that independantly of you then get a new marketing guy.

Kennethti
    • Total posts: 415
    Up