Home – New Forums Starting your journey Some advice and info for a student

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    andrew
    • Total posts: 4
    Up
    ::

Hello all, I have a few questions I’m hoping can be answered.

Firstly I’m still studying, and have been doing some sub contract graphic and web design for some smaller companies this year, so I have an ABN and it’s set up as sole trader, and I’m trading under my full name.

I’m wanting to start up a small business with a name, website etc etc. I don’t particularly want to operate under my own name as later down the track my business might expand. I also don’t want to commit myself to just graphic design as I’m studying 3d animation and will eventually want to pursue this as well.

Anyway that’s a bit about myself. Keep in mind I’m still studying, so as much as I want this to grow I’m focusing on only a few clients per few months but producing great quality design work with good service.

I’m currently in Melbourne so if i was to setup a business name, am I still able to trade interstate/internationally even though my work is carried out in Melbourne, or do I have to register in each state? I recall reading somewhere that it goes by your physical location.

If I am to setup a business name am i required to setup a business bank account or can I use my personal one? What is best practice?

As far as branding myself/business goes is there anything I have to be aware of? I will not be worrying about trademarks as I’ll be small for a while but coming up with a logo/design for my business. My trading name for example could be ‘Example Studios’ but the logo could simply be ‘ES’, I know this is crossing over into trademarks but from what I gather I could do whatever I want with my ‘brand’. I did read however that a business name must appear on stationary, business cards and invoices etc so from my example I use the logo ‘ES’ with ‘Example Studios’ underneath and that’s it?