Home – New Forums Money matters Some basic tax advice please…

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    amber888
    • Total posts: 1
    Up
    ::

Hi, I started selling some items initially as a hobby but it has taken off and now I am considered a business. This has happened in the 08-09 financial year. I have never declared anything or applied for an ABN but I have been trading for the past 11 months. I am now getting ready to do my tax for the year and don’t know where to start. Revenue from my business for the past 11 months is about $10,000 so it’s not much but I want to do the right thing. I have kept all business related receipts which total about $3,000. So profit will be approx $7,000. I have many questions and really need some advice;

– Do I have to get an ABN or can I claim it on my personal tax? (I’m a sole trader)

– Can I claim back GST on my expenses even though it was the last financial year?

– Will I be penalised for not declaring myself as a business in the past four quarters?

– Do I have to register a business name?

– Will Centrelink assess the revenue or profit?

I am happy for anyone to help me even if you can only answer part of my problem. All comments are welcome and much appreciated. Thank you

kathiemt
    • Total posts: 1,167
    Up

Amber, do you have an accountant? If not, you really do need one. Their fees are tax deductible and a good accountant will help you to make the right decisions.

Unless there are accountants here, none of us are really qualified to give that kind of advise but we might be able to give you general comments.

ABNs cost nothing to get and you can apply online. My daughter provides teaching services and consulting on a casual basis and she has an ABN and it is used for her tax papers.

My understanding is that if you’re not registered for GST you cannot claim it. But I could be wrong on that (perhaps check the ATO website).