Home – New Forums Money matters Splitting a portion of sales for GST reporting

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    MarkS
    • Total posts: 9
    Up
    ::

Hi all,

This is my first post here so I apologise if this question should belong elsewhere.

I run an iPhone application development studio and am paid by Apple each month for sales I make internationally and in Australia. Payment is wired directly into my bank account as one lump sum amount. The problem is, only a portion of this amount must adhere to GST requirements so i’m trying to work out the best way of managing this through an accounting package (i’m keen to use Saasu).

When I import my bank statement to Saasu and categorise these transactions, I can either select that they include GST or not. Now i’m not sure if i’m missing something obvious (and I admit I’m very new to accounting processes), but is there some way for me to split this transaction into GST and GST-free income?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Mark

Anonymous
    • Total posts: 11,464
    Up

Hi Mark,

Welcome to the forum :)

I’m sure one of our trusty number crunchers will be along shortly (or perhaps after the weekend) to give you some advice.

In the meantime, I wanted to apologise that your post got held up in our moderation queue.

All the best,
    Jayne

MarkS
    Up

Thanks Jayne, and I apologise for potentially posting a duplicate.

I made some changes to the transaction in Saasu by adding the Australian portion of the sale on an additional line, then modifying the first line by deducting the Australian portion. I’m not sure if this is the right thing to do but it balances and all GST-related reports are accurate from what I can tell.

King
    • Total posts: 2,212
    Up