Home – New Forums New here? Share your story Spoke to some shop owners…now what?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Vesper79
    • Total posts: 37
    Up
    ::

Hey there!

Ok so last week I got my stock and had a chat with a few retail outlets about the possibility of stocking my item. It retails at $39.95 and costs me around $4.- an item (inventory alone, packaging may add $1.- ). I quoted $20 incl GST as the wholesale price. Would this be fair? What do I do now to lock it in with them? I am totally new to the wholesale process, do I need to give them more information, an order form, a look book? If so, what do order forms look like? And what kind of payment terms is the industry standard?

Cheers!

BuyGlobal
    • Total posts: 26
    Up

Some very nice profit margins you have there. For a retail outlet to make 100% on an item is pretty good in my opinion (as long as the product will sell at full retail).

I’m sure there are other’s here that will be able to help with your other questions.

bb1
    Participant
    • Total posts: 4,485
    Up
    Vesper79, post: 236553, member: 57178 wrote:
    Hey there!

Ok so last week I got my stock and had a chat with a few retail outlets about the possibility of stocking my item. It retails at $39.95 and costs me around $4.- an item (inventory alone, packaging may add $1.- ). I quoted $20 incl GST as the wholesale price. Would this be fair? What do I do now to lock it in with them? I am totally new to the wholesale process, do I need to give them more information, an order form, a look book? If so, what do order forms look like? And what kind of payment terms is the industry standard?

Cheers!

Raises a few questions.

Who set the retail price at $39.95, if you just made the number up, than will the consumer pay for it, is it a reasonable RRP, or is it just trying to get the highest possible margin.