Home Forums Starting your journey Staff lost company equipments

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Weareunited
    • Total posts: 1

Hi guys

Long time lurker, first time poster :)

I hope this is the right section for this to post in, if not please feel free to point me in the right direction (aka move the thread!) :)

My partner and I have been running a wedding photography business for about 2-3 years and we have hired staff to assist us for every session.

We had an incident where one of our staff who is responsible for packing up all the equipments at the end of the shoot, left our camera and other equipments behind. We couldn’t find it back when we quickly head back to the site and asking lost & found. It is an expensive camera and we had to get a replacement asap in order not to disappoint our clients.

My question is do we have the right to ask our staff to pay for the missing equipments by deducting their pay or outright payment?

We would like to deal with this issue in the right and fair way for our staff.

Rowan@quaotic
    Participant
    • Total posts: 712

No, you do not have that right. I think you should spend some time on procedures and checklists so everyone knows exactly how to unpack and pack up and what equipment is checked off before finishing.
    As your staff get more experienced they will develop their own steps which will come from familiarity with the equipment, but up until then a check off list should do the job, and no rushing which can add to this sort of problem.

Paul – FS Concierge
    Keymaster
    • Total posts: 3,173

Hi And Welcome to Flying Solo [USER=113069]@Weareunited[/USER] . It is great to have you!

Thank you for joining our community and posting today.

Cheers

bb1
    Participant
    • Total posts: 4,485

This is where your business insurance should kick in

JacquiPryor
    • Total posts: 2,344