Home Forums Starting your journey Start a Freelance Business+ Full time job

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    wahid339
    • Total posts: 1

Hi guys,
    I am new to Australia so I am trying to figure out how full time and freelance jobs works together.
    My situation is this one:
    – Full time job $100K per annum
    – Freelancer job let’s guess $15K per year (first year)

Questions:
    – when I will apply for the ABN, should I apply for “sole trader / independent contractor” as I am a trainer/BIM designer and I will work alone from home for my freelance job? Can I invoice to my clients as a sole trader?

– Should I register for GST? I reckon NO because I will earn just $15K per year and not more than $75000, right? Or that 75000$ are the sum of full time job + freelancer job?

– Are my tax calculate following the individual income tax rates table?
    For example if I got $100k from my full time job + $15k from my freelancer job, will I pay tax for a gross income of $115k? or will I pay taxes separately? please be noted that for my full time job taxes are already paid by the employer.

– Later on if I decide to add a tech start-up (website/blog) under the same business? would it be possible?

Thanks
    Best Regards

LucasArthur
    Participant
    • Total posts: 3,158

Howdy